As a parent, the last thing you want to hear is your son or daughter has been arrested for vandalism. If you have a loved one who has been picked up for suspicion of, or charged with, the act of vandalism give the criminal defense team at the Law Offices of David A. Stein a call. While it may seem like a relatively small offense, depending on the severity of the vandalism and extent of your child’s involvement, there could be heavy penalties. Retaining an experienced juvenile defense lawyer will help to maintain your child’s innocence and potentially their freedom.
Do not hesitate to contact attorney David Stein today. Vandalism convictions can vary depending on the situation and the sooner our firm can begin building a case around your son or daughter, the better chance they have at beating the charges. Call for your free case evaluation today at ( (949) 445-0040.
Vandalism Laws in California
Since the late 1970s until now there have been ever increasing punishments for defacing private and public property. The types of vandalism vary from case to case, with some of the more common types of destruction including:
- Graffiti on buildings, cars, overpasses, billboards and street signs
- Smashed windows in cars, business, residences, abandoned properties and other facilities
- Vehicular destruction, such as keying, tire-slashing, “egging” and denting various parts of the exterior.
Unlike other juvenile crimes, vandalism charges can rapidly spiral out of control depending on the extent of the damage. Under California Penal Code 594-625, an individual can face a wide variety of punishments all fairly expensive and time consuming for both the parent and the accused child. Some numbers to consider:
- If the property suffers damage totaling less than $400, the minor in question could be charged with a misdemeanor. The punishment for such a charge could be up to $1,000 for the first offense and $5,000 for any additional offenses following that. The judge overseeing the juvenile court could also remand the minor to a juvenile detention facility for a period of up to a year with community service and mandatory counseling tacked on.
- On the other hand, if the damage is over $400 the minor in question could face a felony charge. Fines totaling well over $10,000 can be doled out, sometimes in excess of $50,000, in addition to a loss of driving privileges and up to one year in a juvenile dentition facility.
Your Best Defense
By getting in touch with the the Law Offices of David A. Stein today, you’ve taken the necessary steps in preserving your child’s immediate future and the strain on your wallet. Keep in mind it is necessary for the prosecution to answer a number of key questions in order to find your son or daughter guilty. Did someone actually witness the accused performing an act of vandalism or is this a case of mistaken identity? Did law enforcement properly apprehend the accused or were there errors in police procedure? Was there even any noticeable damage?
These and other questions will help us build a case for your son or daughter’s innocence and their eventual release. For more information about how our firm can assist your family, call (949) 445-0040 today.